Date: Time:
Welcome, Log in by clicking  Here!

Latest Update on Neet Eligibility Criteria 2019 That You Need to Know

It’s a dream for the majority of the students to become a doctor one day. Those who are passionate about their dream, work accordingly. They study hard, opt for science subject after class Xth and make studies their only priority.

However, opting for science subject after Xth is not enough to get students to achieve their dream. It is nothing more than a milestone. But, it is the stepping stone to the journey.

Students have to clear a medical entrance exam in order to get an admission in a medical college and pursue the studies to become a doctor one day. And for that, students have to clear the NEET exam.

NEET stands for National Eligibility cum Entrance Test. Students can appear in neet exam after passing the 12th class, there are also provisions under NEET criteria that students can apply even if they are appearing for the 12th standard exam.

This exam is given by those students who wish be in an MBBS or BDS course.

Neet has certain guidelines to follow one of them is it’s eligibility criteria. Students must fall under that criteria in order to give neet exam. NTA, National Testing Agency, the new governing authority of neet exam has made some updates in this criteria.

The updates consist of a number of attempts students can give in a year, Change in regulating authority, and more.

So let’s discuss the eligibility criteria first then we will talk about the updates made by NTA.


Students must have the eligible marks in the eligible subjects to appear in the neet exam. Eligible subjects for neet are Physics, Chemistry, and Biology.

Eligible Percentile:

• General – 50%

• SC/ST/OBC – 40%

• PWD – 45%


Minimum age limit is 17 years. Either completed or going to get completed by 31st December.

Maximum age limit is 25 years for unreserved category (General) and 30 years for the reserved category (SC/ST/OBC)


Students who are appearing in the 12th class exam can also appear. However, if they fail to crack the 12th class exam they are not eligible to take admission.


The attempt limit has been removed. Now candidates can appear any number of times in neet exam until they are the age of 25 & 30 respectively.


• An Indian citizen is eligible to apply.

• Foreign Nationals, Non-Resident Indians (NRI), Overseas Citizen of India (OCIs), Person of Indian Origin (PIOs) are also eligible to apply.

This, so far, is the eligibility criteria. Now, here is the update that has been made by NTA.

• Students can give attempt of NEET exam twice a year and the best score, out of both, will be consodered as their neet score.

One attempt in February and other in May.

• Exam mode changed to online from offline. From 2019 onwards, the only mode of exam is online. There is no option for the offline exam.

• Delhi High Court also stated that NIOS (National Institue of Open Schooling) students are also eligible for NEET exam.

• NEET exam will now be conducted by NTA (National Testing Agency). Previously it was governed by CBSE.

Entire eligibility criteria for neet is mentioned above. The other thing is, students must have an adhaar card. It is mandatorily required while making an online application.


Latest notification on neet, the ministry of AYUSH has confirmed that the admissions in AYUSH courses shall also be done through neet from 2019 onwards.

I really hope this will help the students.

All the best!

NEET PREP is the most trusted online coaching provider for neet exam. Our aim is to provide best education facility to every student who just can’t afford to pay 3 lakh rupees on coaching centres, that is why we have experts in our teaching faculty because no dream should be sacrificed for lack of funds. Explore our free online test series for neet to practice more and make your preparation strong. Students can also sign-up for free trial course of 10 complete chapters which are the part of 97 chapters of neet syllabus.

Posted on July 7, 2022 in Blog by admin

Comments on 'Latest Update on Neet Eligibility Criteria 2019 That You Need to Know' (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.